Types of the Agricultural Insurance Scheme

Types of the Agricultural Insurance Scheme

The types the agricultural insurance scheme are specified by a national law.

Listed below are the types of the Agricultural Insurance Scheme.

  1. Rice, Wheat and Barley Insurance (nationwide program)
  2. Livestock Insurance (nationwide program)
  3. Fruit and Fruit-tree Insurance (optional program)
  4. Field Crop and Sericultural Insurance (optional program)
  5. Greenhouse Insurance (optional program)

Associations, which were established to carry out the agricultural insurance programs, are also capable of insuring their member farmers' houses and properties other than ones covered by the above-listed programs (Farmers' House Insurance).

This scheme offers insurance coverage for many agricultural products and in fact covers almost all of the principal agricultural products in Japan.